SimplyAdType

Embracing typography in advertising and design

Ambient Typography: Part 2

As per last blog’s entry, I mentioned how much I love ambient/ environmental typography. I think it is a great way that typography can be expressed in real life 3D space. Ambient type is really unique, very inspiring, and highly expressive.

I managed to get out of my house last week to Vaughan Mills for a change of scenery. I came across an ambient type piece that was displayed where pictures with Santa would usually be set up by now ☹️ COVID sucks. Anyway! A local artist was featured in this space – Ben Johnston. You can read about him below:

Ben Johnston – Local Artist

I found this interesting because the artists I usually see promoted in my area are visual artists, painting murals or doing other artsy endeavours. Don’t get me wrong, I do appreciate all of the arts but this piece I saw the other day just resonated more with me. Ben is a creative director – he specializes in art direction and custom typography for advertising. It’s not often that I see fellow art directors or designers being promoted locally. It was truly inspiring.

Here is the piece that was featured:

With the holiday season approaching, the words LOVE and PEACE only seem appropriate. This 2D sign features 3D typography. It’s a sans serif block typeface with a gradient colour scheme. This piece from far away appeared to be 3D and free standing – as I got closer, it revealed to be 2D. I found this very cool and interesting.

It is inspiring to see ambient typography displayed in my community especially as an aspiring art director. Cheers to the final blog post of the semester! Stay safe everyone – spread love not germs 💞

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on 17/11/2020 by .