SimplyAdType

Embracing typography in advertising and design

The Women of Type

When I was given the task to find an inspiring type piece, I could have easily done a quick Google Images search.

Ya know, the classics:

typography pieces

good typography

typography art

No, no, no. That’s not my style.

In order to find a type piece that TRULY inspires me, I headed to the land of artists trying to get their message out to their specific target group: Instagram. I wanted to find a type artist whose target group I fit into, so I could find a piece that actually inspires me. Boy did I hit the jackpot! Not only did a find an artist whose work really speaks to me in several ways, I found a community of people who share and celebrate the hard work of women in type.

Welcome to the Instagram account, @womenoftype

This is an Instagram account with nearly 80 thousand followers where women all around the world have a chance at getting their typography featured for all to see and admire. However, there is one artist in particular that has been featured on this account that I want to focus on whose art you can see above.

Meet Mary-Kathryn Kotocavage. A small, independent type artist on Instagram with just over 700 followers. Let’s just say I am incredibly thankful for this task for giving me the opportunity to find an artist with such inspiring work. Mary-Kathryn focuses on spreading positive messages about mental health and giving motivation to keep going.

Each of her pieces has such a well thought-out colour palette, and a theme that stays consistent throughout the entire piece. Most importantly, the messages she chooses to display in her work are truly inspirational in a way that keeps you feeling optimistic and ready to tackle another day.

So there you have it. My journey of finding a piece of type art that truly inspires me. I sincerely hope that you, the reader, takes something away from this just like I did. And please, if you enjoy looking at art, definitely go check out the Women of Type Instagram page and give those ladies some love.

In the words of Mary-Katherine Kotocavage, “No matter how dark the night, the sun always rises.” Just incase you needed to hear that today.

@mkdoesdesign Instagram

2 comments on “The Women of Type

  1. melissapham
    15/09/2021

    The color palette of each’s design is so pretty, and her calligraphy skills are amazing!

  2. adeelahossenbux
    15/09/2021

    Thanks so much for sharing! I checked out their Instagram as well and they have so many cool pieces. By the way, I totally agree with you on the google image searches such as “typography pieces” and “good typography” because I did the same!! haha

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on 14/09/2021 by .