SimplyAdType

Embracing typography in advertising and design

David Carson

David Carson is a graphic designer, art director and surfer who has created exceptional work, and is well known for his experimental typography. He created a great impact with his work, by having such a unique style that was so unconventional and experimental. I find his work to be so inspiring because it feels so raw, real and expressive. I really resonate with his work because it just makes sense to me – the colour, the layout, the imagery, it’s all so beautifully done.

Before I knew who David Carson was, I came across the Ray Gun Magazine. Ray Gun Magazine is an alternative rock and roll magazine that was created in the 90s with experimental editorial designs. By creating iconic covers this caused a cultural shift and defined the grunge aesthetic. Then when I did some more digging on Ray Magazine, I wanted to know who the apart in creating such impactful work, and thats when I found our David Carson was an art director for Rat Gun Magazine.

Seeing David Carson’s work it instantly became a source of inspiration for me. I really admired the experimental typography design and layout. It’s so innovative, expressive, and each aspect works so well together – I feel like I can connect with it. When I look at these covers it also reminds that there’s an art to the choices you make, showing that breaking the rules is a risk worth it. David Carson knows how to break the rules and make it work in his favour.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on 18/11/2021 by .